top of page
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

MY 4 QUICK EXERCISE TIPS FOR HOMEBOUND CAREGIVERS

A ONE-AND A TWO--NOW WORK THAT BODY!!...

Was what the keynote speaker told all the caregivers in the room at a workshop I attended recently. When she asked us to stand for an exercise activity, there was a collective groan among the attendees - after all we had come to relax, socialize, have a catered lunch and enjoy our time away from our responsibilities. If we had wanted to work, we could have stayed at home.

The speaker went on to explain how stress could lead to very serious health problems for the caregiver, including depression, anxiety, heart disease, cancer, diabetes, arthritis, higher levels of stress hormones, weakened immunity, slower healing of wounds, obesity, and increased mental decline. And research and studies have shown one of the best ways to lower your stress level as a caregiver is through regular exercise.

At that point, she had our attention, and full participation, and then she proceeded to tell us that if we just did a few minutes of exercise daily it would go a long way in reducing our stress levels. But for me, going to a gym was out of the question and exercise CD/videos didn’t motivate me. And on the days I had paid caregivers, my to do list was longer than my arm, so my focus was on getting as many errands done as possible - not exercise.

Now let me stop right here and make this DISCLAIMER STATEMENT: (click on home page for additional information). The information I’m sharing is what has worked for me from my own personal experience. So. PLEASE remember to check with your doctor or medical professional before starting ANY exercise program, and have your doctor or medical professional discuss and review what might be the best plan for you before starting on any health or fitness routine.

FINDING A WAY TO SKIN THAT CAT

As the old saying goes, there’s always more than one way to skin a cat, and the speaker gave some simple solutions how we could reach our goals by simply combining exercise with physical activity at home.

This was a win/win/win for me: a) it gave me more motivation to stop procrastinating on housework I didn’t like, b) I could do double duty by making my every day chores my exercise routine and c) I could lower my stress level and improve my health - I was good to go! So, I’d like to share four ideas how you can sneak in a few exercises to help lower your stress and still handle your caregiver responsibilities:

Double Duty Walking - when the weather was nice, I would put my mom in her wheelchair and go walking thru the neighborhood. She enjoyed being outside in the fresh air, and I was able to get a good exercise workout just by walking and pushing her wheelchair.

How Does Your Garden Grow – Get some seeds and start planting a garden – don’t have the yard space? Get a planter or a tub! – It’s not the size of the space; it’s the fun of tending, watering, and moving dirt around in the ground, or container and seeing stuff grow. If it blooms, it blooms – if not try again next year!

This is the way we fold our clothes - Laundry - Oh joy! Believe it or not, it’s a great physical activity and exercise. Taking clothes out of the dryer and folding those sheets and pillow cases requires lifting, bending, stretching, and more, so make a game out of it and think how you can do an exercise routine and you can get two things done at once. And if you feel really motivated, break out the iron and ironing board and iron that stress away!

Turn on the music - Yes, I’ve saved the best for last –music can calm your nerves and soothe your soul - and it may have a calming effect on your ill family member as well. Whether you are playing music while you do your chores or you are taking a break with a cup of tea or reading your favorite book, in my opinion music can provide a peaceful relaxing atmosphere - personally, I like to do deep breathing exercises while listening to a relaxing CD. But of course, these are just a few of the ways, you can nourish your body and make your caregiving responsibilities a little more fun, less hectic and less stressful. Try it - I think you'll like it!

Got a story you’d like to share? Have questions about coaching, or have comments or suggestions - SEND ME AN EMAIL at: Coachglozcaregiverwellness.com

Be Well - Stay Well -Because Caregivers Need Care Too!!

Coach Gloria

Life Strategies/Wellness Coach & Patient Advocate

Owner: GJ Brown & Associates

Blog: Glo’s Caregiver Wellness Connection

Email: gbrown1gjba@gmail.com

Website: http://gbrown1gjba.wix.com/caregiverwellness

Gloria is a practicing life & wellness coach, consultant/trainer, freelance writer and inspirational speaker


Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page